An introduction to the Early Years Foundation Stage

Early Years Foundation Stage - EYFS is a framework for care and education of children from birth to five years of age. It outlines:
·         The legal welfare requirements to keep your child safe.
·         The seven areas of learning and development.
·         Assessments that will tell you about your child’s progress through the EYFS.
·         Expected levels (Early Learning Goals) that your child should reach at age 5, usually the end of the reception year.
It is helpful if parents are familiar with the Early Years Foundation Stage framework in order to get the best out of any activities that they do at home to support their child.

Areas of learning and development
The seven areas of learning and development are split into three prime areas and four specific areas. Children develop the three prime areas first. These are:         

Communication and language·        

Physical development

Personal, social and emotional development

As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in four specific areas. These are:
·         Literacy
·         Mathematics
·         Understanding the world
·         Expressive arts and design
These seven areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities, but the professionals teaching and supporting your child will make sure that the activities are suited to your child’s unique needs.
For further information and to download the framework check out